5 comments on “C64 User Port Input

  1. I’m interest in reproduct this c64 adc interface, because I don’t know phyton I ask you if it’s possible obtain your assembler code for interface mcp3008 to c64 user port.
    Thanks and nice days:)

  2. Hey

    I am trying to get my Vic-20 to communicate with a ADC over RS232.
    I want to read analog values from a temperate sensor into the Vic and display them on the screen. I eventually would like to control some peripherals with the Vic. I will be using the User port RS232 for this endeavor. Right now, I just want to read a value in from the ADC and display it on the Vic screen.
    The ADC is an 8 bit device.

    I could really use some help with this and there are not may guys out there that can do what you have done. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    • Actually, After reading more of your posts, I am quite open to using the SSI method. I would like to be able to program in Basic, since it is all that I know.

      Long story short: I want the Vic-20 to read the value of a temperature sensor through and ADC and display it on the screen . I don’t care what kind of ADC. Ideally, I would like the Vic-20 to communicate with an Arduino I have. I would use the ADC on the Arduino and could send data to and from the VIC-20.

      Sorry if this seems a little vague, I am still in the planning stages and am open to any suggestions.
      You can E-mail with your response either way.

      Thanks in advance

      Tom

      • Well, if you’re trying to do it in Basic, I’d steer clear of rs-232. The advantage to using a chip with an SPI interface like the 3008 I used is that you don’t have to worry about the timing so much. You’ll still have to do a lot of bit-twiddling to communicate with it, though.

        The simplest solution by far would be to find an ADC that has a parallel interface – then there’s no real communication protocol to worry about, and you can read the data with a single PEEK.

Leave a Reply

