9 comments on “The Commodore 64 User Port

  1. Brings back memories. When I was in high school 20 so years ago, I did some of the very same things. I gave my dad my design idea and he helped me design a buffer circuit from transistors and relays. I probably got the memory locations from the very same mag you mentioned.
    I am now working on the Arduino. Designing a solar/stove/propane heating system, I was look for a way to quickly access control on the pins using a similar poke mechanism like I used for the C64 (thats how I came across your page). What I did find was port manipulation for Arduino. http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/PortManipulation You probably already know about this, but thought it would be handy for you if you didn’t. Have fun. By the way, where did you dig up a C64.

    • Thanks for the comments. I’d like to look into raw AVR coding in the future, time permitting. As for C64s, I actually have two. The oldest I picked up at an Iowa State University surplus sale about 10-15 years ago. The one I’ve been using for projects is an eBay purchase – they’re pretty easy to find for $20 to $50 or so.

  2. Actually, part 1 starts in the April issue, then part 2 skips forward to the June issue. Solid blog post! Would have been nice to see the hookup diagram as part of the post.

  3. Wow! I love this. It reminds me of my o-level project. I programmed a “warehouse retrieval robot” controlled by my Commodore 64. The concept was basic; type warehouse location coordinates into C64 basic program. The “warehouse retriever robot” would go off and retrieve the object stored at that location in the warehouse. I built the warehouse retriever robot the software and interface. It had a motor on each rear wheel which meant it was very nimble e.g turn left by reversing one of the rear wheels. Also, it could quite easily calculate the best route to the desired location. I wrote the C64 control program, constructed the interface to the C64, built and programmed the warehouse retriever robot, and user interface. The program would successfully return the desired item back to the start position ready for deliver to the customer. The robot even had a hand made wooden cover to protect the motors and aluminium frame and circuitry whilst it made it’s way around the purpose built warehouse.

  4. Hi, Nice to read this. So I have a question: is it just as easy to multiplex the leds using 4 outputs on the anode and 4 inputs on the cathode? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

